Beach Buggy

Copyright Bill Reed 2007

When I was 13 and my brother had just turned 16, he worked for a landscaper and saved enough money to buy his first car. It was a 1931 Ford Sport Coupe. A SportCoupe was a rag top but the top didn’t go down like a convertable. I guess it was cheaper to manufacture a car without a top and just put a canvas lid on it. Or they just thought it looked sporty. I never did figure that one out, but it was a really neat car with a rumble seat. I guess the girls liked it alot too, because I didn’t see him much once he started driving. I’ve had an affinity for old cars ever since he bought that thing.

This is a watercolor of a 1930 Ford pick up. It was more of a utility truck since the bed was too short to carry lumber or anything longer than about 6ft. That surfboard wouldn’t fit either but I thought it would look cool.

9″x12″ watercolor on 140lb. acid free paper matted to fit an 11″x14″ frame. $125.00

www.mysurfbaby.com

About toonsville

I'm a retired animator and Director and I've worked mostly on TV Saturday morning cartoon shows. I started in the industry in 1966 at The Disney Studios in Burbank as an in-betweener on 'The Jungle Book' and worked at Filmation Studios, Hana Barbera, MGM, Universal, Cartoon Network and several others during my 42 years in the business.
This entry was posted in 1930 Ford, beach, old cars, painting, surfboard, watercolor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

